vissza

Landesmuseum Burgenland (Burgenland Museum)

The Landesmuseum Burgenland was opened on 14 September 1926, just one year after Eisenstadt became the seat of the province. The institution was originally situated in the Ruster street, in the Leinner House. After the Anschluss, in 1939 the collection was moved into the Jewish quarter (Eisenstadt Unterberg), into a deserted set of buildings, the owners of which were forced to flee the country. They have served as the museum ever since. In 2005-2006 the museum buildings were renewed and the institution was renamed Landesmuseum Burgenland. It reopened under the new name on 3 March 2006.

The Landesmuseum Burgenland is a "universal museum"; thus its permanent exhibition showcases artifacts from various fields of both natural history (geology, mineralogy, zoology and botany) and the cultural history of Austria (archaeology, ethnography, art history and music history).

Address: A 7000 Eisenstadt, Museums Gasse 1-5.
E-mail: landesmuseumbgld.gv.at
Tel: + 43 2682 600 1219
Fax: + 43 2682 600 1277
www.burgenland.at/kultur/landesmuseum
Kapcsolódó oldal: www.eisenstadt.at

vissza